COSTA RICA

Borealtours :: Costa Rica

Paradise has a name: Costa Rica! The country is blessed with exceptional natural beauty, which, fortunately, the country's fathers have recognized - 30 per cent of the area of Costa Rica is protected, as much as in no other country on earth. It's a small and beautiful country at the crossroads between South and North America, that’s why a lot of plants and animals from both continents can be found here. There is no country on earth that gives home to such a variety of birds and butterflies. The country lies between the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean. In the center, the country is crossed by high mountains. Further north there are many active volcanoes but the South of Costa Rica is characterized by a more mountainous landscape. Costa Rica stands for fascinating nature parks and dense forests, bubbling volcanoes and breathtaking vegetation: Rain forests, where toucans and parrots are at home and the National Marine Park, where turtles, dolphins and manatees live. For swimming lure the beaches of either the Caribbean Sea or the Pacific Ocean.

San Jose

Costa Rica's capital is far from being a bustling metropolis. It lacks the architectural evidence of a powerful past. From San José's "sights" stand out two museums that provide a compact and impressive overview of the pre-Hispanic history of the "rich coast". The Museo de Oro Precolombino exposes the most sought-after works of South American cultures. Underground, housed in the building of the Central Bank of the country, the collection consists of valuable animal figures such as frogs, spiders and birds of prey.

Tortuguero National Park

The National Park got his name from the word "Tortuguero", which is the Spanish word for the giant sea turtles (tortugas) which nest on the beaches of this region. The turtle nesting attracts many tourists to come to this remote region. But not only the turtles make up the splendors of that region, Tortuguero offers an impressive interlinked system of small rivers, canals, and beautiful lagoons. Jungle canals serve as the region's main transportation arteries. Visitors can discover the jungle waterways and the nesting spots of four different species of sea turtles. Moreover tourists have the opportunity to observe the world's largest turtles, the Leatherback Turtles, laying their eggs in the warm sand of Playa Tortugero.

Cartago

Discover the place where colonization and settlement of Costa Rica began: the first Capital of Costa Rica, Cartago, which is one of the oldest communities in Costa Rica. In 1823 the President Juan Mora Fernandez decided to make San Jose the Nations capital. Nevertheless Cartago is still one of the largest cities of Costa Rica and much of its ancient history can still be found there. One of the most famous attractions is the Our Lady of los Ángeles Basilica which was built in honor of the apparition of the patron saint of Costa Rica, the Virgen de los Ángeles, in 1635. That’s why the Basilica is the most important National Sanctuary and a popular destination to thousands of Pilgrims every year. They come here to see the statue of "La Negrita", the black Madonna, which is supposed to have great healing powers.

Arenal Volcano National Park

The 1670m high and active Arenal Volcano is located about ninety kilometers north of San José, within the national park on Lake Arenal. The reserve includes an original rain and cloud forest, rivers, waterfalls and rich flora and fauna in different habitats. The majestic and impressive volcano is the biggest attraction of the national park and is in almost perfect, conical shape. The Arenal is one of the most active volcanoes in Costa Rica. The last major eruption was in 1968, when an earthquake awakened the giant after about 400 years from a deep sleep. The Arenal heats different hot sources, including the hot springs of Tabacon, a popular tourist destination. The Arenal, Fortuna and Tabacon belong to the most popular destinations in Costa Rica.

Monteverde Cloudforest

A unique and popular tourist destination in Costa Rica is the Monteverde Cloud Forest. The private nature reserve was established in 1972 and protects tropical rainforest along the Cordillera de Tilaran with heights ranging from 800 to over 1800 m. More than 2,500 plant species, about 100 species of mammals, 400 bird species and 120 reptile / amphibian species are native to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. This includes numerous varieties of orchids and butterflies. Many snakes and frogs are among the residents of the reserve as well, including the harlequin (Atelopus varius) and roach frog (Agalychnis callidryas). Thousands of birds fly over the green canopy of the cloud forest, including the Quetzal and the Tucan hummingbird.

COSTA RICA

Borealtours :: Costa Rica

Le paradis a un nom : le Costa Rica! Heureusement que les fondateurs du pays ont su reconnaître qu’il est béni d’une beauté naturelle exceptionnelle. De ce fait, 30 % de la zone du Costa Rica est protégée, soit un phénomène unique sur la Terre. C’est un petit et beau pays à la croisée des chemins entre l’Amérique du Nord et du Sud. Voilà pourquoi beaucoup de plantes et d’animaux provenant des deux continents peuvent être trouvés ici. Il n’y a aucun autre pays sur la Terre qui a autant de variété d’oiseaux et de papillons. Le pays se trouve entre la mer des Caraïbes et l’océan Pacifique. Dans le centre, le pays est traversé par de hautes montagnes et plus au Nord il y a beaucoup de volcans en activité, tandis que le Sud du Costa Rica est caractérisé par un paysage plus montagneux. Le Costa Rica signifie des parcs de nature fascinante et des forêts denses, des volcans bouillonnants et une végétation à couper le souffle… Des forêts tropicales humides, où les toucans et perroquets sont à la maison, le Parc marin national où des tortues, des dauphins et des lamantins vivent… Pour l’attrait des baigneurs, les plages bordent les côtes de la mer des Caraïbes ou de l’océan Pacifique.

San José

La capitale du Costa Rica est loin d’être une métropole agitée, laissant des traces d’évidence architecturale d’un passé puissant. San José contient deux monuments impressionnants de l’histoire préhispanique. Tout d’abord, le Museo de Oro Precolumbino expose les œuvres les plus recherchées de cultures sud-américaines. Ensuite, logées dans les bâtiments de la Banque centrale du pays, se trouvent les collections d’animaux empaillés tels que, grenouilles, araignées et oiseaux de proie.

Parc national de Tortuguero

Le Parc national de Tortuguero a obtenu son nom du mot « Tortuguero », qui est le mot espagnol pour les tortues géantes de mer (tortugas) qui se nichent sur les plages de cette région. La nidification de tortues attire beaucoup de touristes en cette région éloignée. Par ailleurs, Tortuguero offre une impressionnante liaison de système de petites rivières, de canaux et de belles lagunes. Les canaux de la jungle sont les artères principales de la région. Les visiteurs peuvent découvrir les voies navigables de la jungle et les endroits de nidification de quatre espèces différentes de tortues de mer. De plus, les touristes ont l'occasion d'observer les plus grandes tortues du Monde, les Tortues Luths, pondant leurs œufs dans le sable chaud de Playa Tortugero.

Cartago

Découvrez l’endroit où la colonisation et le peuplement du Costa Rica ont débuté, Cartago, la première capitale du Costa Rica et aussi une des plus vieilles communautés du pays. En 1823, le président Juan Mora Fernandez a décidé de déclarer San José la capitale de la nation. Néanmoins, Cartago est toujours une des plus grandes villes du Costa Rica et son histoire antique n’est pas sur le point d’être oubliée. Une des attractions les plus célèbres est la basilique Notre-Dame-des-Anges qui a été construite en l'honneur de l'apparition du saint patron du Costa Rica, la Vierge des Anges, en 1635. C'est pourquoi la basilique est le sanctuaire national le plus important et une destination populaire pour des milliers de pèlerins chaque année. Ils s’y rendent pour voir la statue «La Negrita», la Madone noire, ayant de grands pouvoirs de guérison.

Parc national du volcan Arenal

Le volcan Arenal actif et haut de 1670 m, est situé à environ 90 km au nord de José San, dans le Parc national aux abords du lac Arenal. La réserve se compose de différents habitats, d’une riche flore et faune, de rivières et de cascades, puis d’une forêt parsemée de nuages et de pluie. Le majestueux et impressionnant volcan est la plus grande attraction du Parc national et il épouse presque parfaitement une forme conique. L'Arenal est un des volcans les plus actifs au Costa Rica. La dernière éruption majeure fut en 1968, lorsqu’un un tremblement de terre a éveillé le géant d'un sommeil profond d’environ 400 ans. L'Arenal chauffe différentes sources chaudes, y compris les sources chaudes de Tabacon; une destination touristique populaire. L'Arenal, Fortuna et Tabacon sont parmi les destinations les plus populaires au Costa Rica.

Réserve de Monteverde

Une destination touristique unique et populaire au Costa Rica est la réserve de Monteverde, communément appelée la forêt de nuages de Monteverde. La réserve naturelle privée a été établie en 1972 et protège la forêt tropicale le long de la Cordillère de Tilaran allant de 800 m à plus de 1800 m de hauteur. Plus de 2500 espèces de plantes, environ 100 espèces de mammifères, 400 espèces d'oiseaux et 120 espèces de reptiles / amphibiens vivent en la forêt de nuages de Monteverde. Ceci inclut les nombreuses variétés d'orchidées et de papillons. Beaucoup de serpents et grenouilles sont parmi les résidents de la réserve, y compris l'Arlequin (Atelopus varius) et la grenouille cafard (Agalychnis callidryas). Des milliers d'oiseaux volent sur l'auvent vert de la forêt des nuages, y compris le Quetzal et le colibri Tucan.