ECUADOR

Borealtours :: ECUADOR

Ecuador is a republic in northwestern South America, located between Colombia and Peru, that has about 15 million inhabitants. Named after its proximity to the Equator, this country is one of the smallest but also one of the most versatile countries of South America. The Galapagos Islands also belong to Ecuador and are located at 1000 km west of the coast in the Pacific. Snow-capped volcanoes, waterfalls in the Amazon jungle, the music of the Indians with their melon hats and diverse colonial cities: these are just a few examples of what Ecuador has to offer.

Galapagos

The Galapagos archipelago is located almost 1,000 km west of the coast of Ecuador in the Pacific. It comprises 13 islands that are larger than five square kilometers, six smaller islands and more than 40 mini-islands. The five large and inhabited islands are named Isla Isabella, Isla Santa Cruz, Isla San Cristobal, Isla Baltra and Isla Floreana. The Galapagos Islands are among the most active volcanoes in the world. In many ways they form a very special holiday destination. The islands are of volcanic origin which shaped the unique landscape of the islands. Visitors will find a unique flora and fauna that is largely unaffected. Moreover, the islands are particularly famous for their diverse and abundant wildlife. The Galapagos tortoises, after which the islands are named, are just one example of the amazing wildlife species that can be found on the islands among snakes, lizards, albatrosses and flamingos. But the slands are not only interesting for animal lovers but also for sporty travelers. Diving excursions are an unforgettable experience here; especially near the reefs of the small volcanic islands divers will find a rich variety of marine life.

Quito

Ecuador's capital city, built on the ruins of the former northern Inca capital, offers visitors not only a rich pre-Columbian history, but also leaves nothing to be desired for a modern traveler. It is one of the highest cities in the world located on an elevation of 2850m above sea level. The city has the least altered historic center in Latin America where you can find the major attractions including the monasteries of San Francisco and Santo Domingo, and the Church and Jesuit College of La Compañía. UNESCO declared the historic city center of City a World Heritage Site in 1978. The huge city extends over a gorgeous valley surrounded by the Andes and volcanic peaks. Close to Quito you can find the Middle of the World Monument which divides the northern and the southern hemispheres. The monument has been built after a French expedition team defined the precise location of the equatorial line during the 17th century.

Avenue of the Volcanoes

Even though Ecuador is one of the smallest countries in South America, it has a high concentration of volcanoes. The Avenue of Volcanoes passes along eight of Ecuador's highest summits. The name "Avenue of the Volcanoes" was given to this part of the Ecuadorian Andes by the German explorer Alexander von Humboldt. As the site of Ecuador's most famous volcano, the Cotopaxi Volcano, the Cotopaxi National Park enchants its visitors with dreamlike views on the scenic mountainous landscape. Just a few people make it to the summit of Volcán Cotopaxi (5897 m), undoubtedly a great experience. Horse riding, cycling and hiking tours to the highlands lakes or nearby volcanic peaks are also possible.

Cuenca

Cuenca is the third biggest city of Ecuador and a real jewel of the South. The historic city center whose architecture incorporates Gothic, neo-Classical and Modernist styles, is characterized by its cobblestone paving of the narrow streets, the flowering plazas, the colorful buildings and beautiful ironwork balconies who give the centre its particular colonial appearance. Everywhere in the city you can find a diverse culture of art and handicraft; especially weaving is one of the main crafts in this part of Ecuador. Cuenca is famous to be the "city of the Panama hat"; Panama hat weaving has a long history in Cuenca. As odd as it may sound, more than 90% of the Panama hats all over the world have been produced in Cuenca.

ÉQUATEUR

Borealtours :: ÉQUATEUR

L'Équateur est une république dans le nord-ouest d'Amérique du Sud, situé entre la Colombie et le Pérou, qui a environ 15 millions d'habitants. Son nom est dû à sa proximité de l’Équateur, et le pays est un des plus petits mais aussi l'un des plus polyvalents de l'Amérique du Sud. Les îles Galápagos appartiennent aussi à l'Équateur et sont situées 1000 km à l'ouest de la côte du Pacifique. Les volcans enneigés, les cascades dans la jungle amazonienne, la musique des Indiens avec leurs chapeaux melon et diverses villes coloniales : ce ne sont que quelques exemples de ce que l'Équateur a à offrir.

Galápagos

L’archipel des Galápagos est situé près de 1000 km à l’ouest de la côte de l’Équateur dans le Pacifique. Il comprend 13 îles qui sont plus grande que cinq kilomètres carrés, six petites îles et plus de 40 îles miniatures. Les cinq grandes îles habitées sont nommées Isla Isabella, Isla Santa Cruz, Isla San Cristobal, Isla Baltra et Isla Floreana. Les îles Galápagos contiennent les volcans les plus actifs au monde. À bien des égards, elles forment une destination de vacances très spéciale. Les îles sont d’origine volcanique. Les visiteurs y trouveront une flore et faune uniques qui ne sont quasiment pas affectées. En outre, les îles sont particulièrement célèbres pour leur faune diversifiée et abondante. Les tortues du Galápagos ne sont qu’un exemple des espèces de faunes étonnantes qui peuvent être trouvées sur les îles tels comme les serpents, les lézards, les albatros et les flamants. Mais les îles ne sont pas seulement intéressantes pour les amoureux d’animaux, mais aussi pour les aventuriers sportifs. Les excursions de plongée sont une expérience inoubliable ici, surtout près des récifs des petites îles volcaniques où les plongeurs trouveront une grande variété de vie marine.

Quito

La capitale de l'Équateur, construite sur les ruines de l'ancienne capitale Inca du nord, offre aux visiteurs non seulement une histoire précolombienne riche, mais aussi ne laisse rien à désirer pour un voyageur moderne. C’est l'une des plus hautes villes dans le monde située à une altitude de 2850 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer. La ville possède le centre historique moins altéré en Amérique latine où vous pouvez trouver les principales attractions, dont les monastères de San Francisco et Santo Domingo, et l'église et l’université jésuite de la Compañía. L'UNESCO a déclaré le centre-ville historique de la ville patrimoine mondial en 1978. La grande ville s'étend sur une magnifique vallée entourée par les Andes et les sommets volcaniques. Près de Quito vous pouvez trouver le Monument du Milieu du Monde qui divise les deux hémisphères. Le monument a été construit après qu’une équipe d’expédition française ait défini l'emplacement précis de la ligne équatoriale au cours du 17e siècle.

L’avenue des Volcans

Bien que l’Équateur soit un des pays les plus petits en Amérique du Sud, il a une haute concentration de volcans. « L’avenue de volcans » traverse les huit sommets les plus hauts de l’Équateur. Ce fut l’explorateur allemand Alexander Von Humboldt qui donna le nom « L’avenue des Volcans » à cette partie des Andes équatoriennes. Le Parc national de Cotopaxi enchante ses visiteurs par son panorama exceptionnel sur le paysage montagneux pittoresque, grâce au plus célèbre volcan de l'Equateur; le volcan Cotopaxi. Juste quelques personnes arrivent au sommet du volcan Cotopaxi mesurant 5897 m, sans aucun doute une grande et superbe expérience. Il est tout aussi possible de faire des excursions à cheval, du cyclisme et des randonnées dans les régions montagneuses près des sommets volcaniques.

Cuenca

Cuenca est la troisième ville la plus grande de l’Équateur et un vrai bijou du Sud. Le centre-ville historique dont l’architecture incorpore des styles gothiques et modernes, est caractérisé par son pavage de pavé rond dans les rues étroites, ses places florissantes, ses bâtiments colorés et ses beaux balcons de fer qui lui donnent son apparence coloniale si particulière. Partout dans la ville vous pouvez trouver une culture diverse d’art et d’artisanat; particulièrement le tissage est un des métiers principaux dans cette partie de l’Équateur. Cuenca est célèbre pour être « la ville du chapeau du Panama », car le tissage du chapeau du Panama a une longue histoire dans Cuenca. Aussi étrange que cela puisse paraître, plus de 90% des chapeaux du Panama ont été produits à Cuenca.