MOROCCO

Borealtours :: Morocco

Morocco is a kingdom in the northwest of the African continent. In the North it borders on the Mediterranean Sea and in its West you can find the Atlantic Ocean. National borders are in the south to Mauritania, Algeria to the east and north to the Spanish enclaves of Ceuta and Melilla on the Mediterranean coast. Through the Strait of Gibraltar, Morocco is separated from Spain and the British colony of Gibraltar.
Morocco is one of the emerging travel destinations in North Africa. It offers the perfect blend of mystery, beauty, history, culture and luxury. With its 3,500 meters long coastline, the snowy mountains of the High Atlas, the vast expanses of the Sahara and the ancient royal cities, it is a country full of magic with an impressive history.

Casablanca

Nowadays Casablanca is a large and modern metropolis. In the old town of the former French colonial town you might still recognize many movie scenes as the city served as film set of many French movies. Casa (as it is called by the locals) has not many important sights to offer. Probably the most important tourist attraction is the Hassan II Mosque, the largest mosque in Morocco with the highest minaret in the world. Casablanca's medina (old town) is worth a visit; on the Mohammed V square you will find the most important Moorish buildings in the country.

Rabat

Since 1912, the seaside city Rabat is the capital of Morocco. One the one hand Rabat can be seen as a very modern city, one the other hand it has many fascinating historical sights. This includes the picturesque Kasbah of Udayas that was built in the middle of the 12th Century. The unique Hassan tower, whose construction began in the late 12th century, was supposed to comprise the largest minaret in the world but it has never been completed. Directly on the opposite side of the Tower is the 20th-Century mausoleum of Mohammed V, a major attraction of the city. In 1961 King Hassan II assigned a Vietnamese architect to build the tomb in an Arab-Andalusian style to commemorate his father, Sultan Muhammad V.

Fes

The ancient capital of Morocco, Fes, is the oldest of the four royal cities in Morocco and an UNESCO World Heritage Site. Fes was founded in the 8th century and expanded to become the center of intellectual life in Morocco. Moreover, it became one of the holy cities of the Islamic World.
Fes is home to the oldest university in the world which is housed Karaouine mosque that has been built in 859. Not far away you'll find the Nejjarine fountain with its unique decor. The Karaouine complex is the most important building and the center of Fes. It is a combination of mosque and Islamic University. The World Bank has helped to restore many of these old and historic buildings in Fes.

The Moroccan desert

What except for mountains and coasts, a great culture and inspiring cities makes Morocco so memorable? The desert!
Zagora is the last big village before the beginning of the endless desert, located on the outskirts of the Draa Valley where you can find beautiful landscapes, rough canyons but also large oasis. Some small, picturesque sand dunes lure here as well, but who wants to experience the beauty of the "classic" desert has to go to Erg Chebbi in the west of the country, which is said to be home to the largest sand dunes in Morocco. The highlight is the early morning sunrise: Never are the gently flowing dune formations this photogenic and at no other time you will experience such an overwhelming silence of the endless desert.

Marrakesh

Marrakech, the "Red City", is truly a magical place, with many markets, gardens, palaces and mosques. The nickname "Red City" refers to the panoramic ochre–red ramparts which were built in the 12th century to comprise the whole city. You can spend an entire day to explore the beautiful courtyards and winding alleys of the medina.
Due to the numerous architecturally significant buildings, including the Koutoubia mosque, built in the year 1162, Bahia Palace and the Islamic College Ben Yusuf Madrasa (built in the 14th Century), the old town was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The main attraction of the city is the Jamaa El Fna Square, the famous medieval market- and execution place, which nowadays turned into a vibrant city square with oriental storytellers, snake charmers and jugglers.

MAROC

Borealtours :: Marocco

Le Maroc est un royaume dans le nord-ouest du continent africain. Au nord, il borde la mer Méditerranée et à ouest, l'océan Atlantique. Les frontières nationales sont la Mauritanie au sud et l'Algérie à l'est. Par le détroit de Gibraltar, le Maroc est séparé de l'Espagne et de la colonie britannique du Gibraltar.
Le Maroc est l'une des destinations de voyages émergents en Afrique du Nord. Il offre le parfait mélange de mystère, de beauté, d'histoire, de culture et de luxe. Avec ses 3500 mètres de littoral, les montagnes enneigées du Haut Atlas, les vastes étendues du Sahara et les anciennes villes royales, c’est un pays plein de magie avec une histoire impressionnante.

Casablanca

Aujourd'hui, Casablanca est une grande métropole moderne. Le quartier de la vieille ville peut vous paraître familier car de nombreuses scènes de films y ont été tournées pour des films français. Casa (comme il est appelé par les habitants) a peu de sites touristiques importants. L’attraction touristique la plus importante est probablement la mosquée Hassan II, la plus grande mosquée au Maroc avec le plus grand minaret au monde. La médina de Casablanca (vieille ville) vaut le détour ; sur la place Mohammed V, vous trouverez des bâtiments mauresques les plus importants du pays.

Rabat

Depuis 1912, la ville balnéaire Rabat est la capitale du Maroc. D'une part, Rabat peut être considérée comme une ville très moderne, d'autre part, la ville abrite de nombreux sites historiques fascinants. Cela inclut la Kasbah pittoresque d’Oudayas, construite au milieu du 12e siècle. La tour Hassan unique, dont la construction débuta à la fin du 12e siècle, était censée comprendre le plus grand minaret du monde, mais il n'a jamais été achevé. En face de la Tour se trouve le mausolée du 20e siècle de Mohammed V, une attraction majeure de la ville. En 1961, le roi Hassan II reçoit un architecte vietnamien pour construire le tombeau dans un style arabo-andalou pour commémorer son père, le sultan Mohammed V.

Fès

L'ancienne capitale du Maroc, Fès est la plus ancienne des quatre villes royales du Maroc. C’est un site classé au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Fès a été fondée au 8e siècle et a évolué pour devenir le centre de la vie intellectuelle au Maroc. En outre, c’est aussi devenu l'une des villes saintes du monde islamique. Fès abrite la plus ancienne université du monde, logée près de la mosquée Karaouine, construite en 859. Non loin de là, vous trouverez la fontaine Nejjarine avec son décor unique. Le complexe Karaouine est le bâtiment le plus important du centre de Fès. La Banque mondiale a contribué à restaurer la plupart de ces anciens et bâtiments historiques de Fès.

Le désert marocain

Qu'est-ce qui rend le Maroc si mémorable, en dehors de ses montagnes et ses côtes, sa culture et ses grandes villes ? Le désert !
Zagora est le dernier grand village avant le début du désert sans fin, situé à la périphérie de la vallée du Drâa, où vous pouvez trouver de beaux paysages, des canyons mais aussi de grandes oasis. Quelques petites dunes pittoresques parsèment le paysage mais ce qui vaut vraiment le détour c’est Erg Chebbi dans l'ouest du pays, que l'on dit être à la maison des dunes de sable au Maroc. Au lever du soleil, les formations dunaires rendent le décor onirique. À aucun autre moment vous ne ferez l'expérience d'un tel silence écrasant.

Marrakech

Marrakech, la «ville rouge», est vraiment un endroit magique, avec de nombreux marchés, jardins, palais et mosquées. Le surnom de «ville rouge» fait référence aux remparts ocre-rouge panoramiques qui ont été construits au 12e siècle pour encercler l'ensemble de la ville. Vous pouvez passer une journée entière à explorer les belles cours et les ruelles tortueuses de la médina.
En raison des nombreux bâtiments d’une importance architecturale, y compris la mosquée Koutoubia, construite en l'an 1162, le palais de la Bahia et le Collège islamique Ben Youssef Madrasa (construit au 14e siècle), la vieille ville a été déclarée site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. L'attraction principale de la ville est la place Jamaa El Fna, la célèbre place du marché à l’ambiance médiévale, qui s’est transformée en une place vibrante avec des conteurs orientaux, des charmeurs de serpents et des jongleurs.