PORTUGAL

Borealtours :: Portugal

The country in the most western part of the European mainland is influenced by life at the Atlantic Ocean.
The “Green Garden of Portugal” in the north, where excellent vines are cultivated, passes into the mountains and finally, in the south, the sea formed the beautiful coastline of the Algarve with sandy beaches and picturesque towns.
Starting from its coastline, many brave men discovered the world and made Portugal a nation of navigators. Among them, there were Vasco da Gama, who found the seaway to India and Pedro Alvares Cabral, who was the discoverer of Brazil. From their long journeys, they brought along many ideas and impressions which can still be found in the Portuguese cuisine, culture and music.
Whether you enjoy a “Bacalhau”, the traditionally dried cod fish, offered in one of 365 different recipes (one for every day of the year) or you drink a glass of famous Port wine while listening to “Fado”, the nation’s melancholic songs, you will enjoy your stay in this nice “End of Europe”. At last, you will understand what Portuguese mean with “their” word “saudade”, the overwhelming longing for Portugal but also for things that they miss. But lengthen your journey with a multitude of souvenirs: Take some “Azulejos”, Portugal’s typical ceramic tiles that beautify every Portuguese house, afford a bottle of Vinho verde or take some music of Amalia Rodriguez, the Queen of Fado, to keep your memory of that beautiful country alive.

Lisbon

Built on seven hills, Portugal’s capital Lisbon – also called the “White Town” – is situated on a beautiful bay at the estuary of river Tagus into the Atlantic Ocean. The lower town “Baixa” which was built after the huge earthquake of 1755 is surrounded by the castle hill with its impressive “Castelo de São Jorge” (Castle of Saint George), one of Lisboan’s landmarks, the old town “Alfama” with its numerous Fado bars and the upper town “Bairro Alto”.
Take the number 28 of the “Eléctrico”, the traditional tramway, and discover the most beautiful streets and places of old Lisbon. The cosmopolitan capital is a city with a great past, attested by numerous sights. Magnificent palaces, churches and monasteries, narrow alleys and cozy squares will captivate every visitor.

Belem

An important neighborhood of Lisbon, Belem is home of the famous “Torre de Belém” (Tower of Belem) which was built on the shore of river Tagus for the protection of the city and which is a site of UNESCO World Heritage today.
Seeing the Jeronimos Monastery with its impressive manueline architecture is another highlight for every visitor of Portugal. Its church, Santa Maria de Belem, is the burial place of many noble people, among them five kings and seven queens.
In Belem, visitors can also admire the world famous Monument to the Discoveries, having been erected in commemoration of the 500th anniversary of the death of Henry the Navigator and dedicated to all men who gave fame to Portugal.

Porto

Known as Portus Cale in the Ancient World, Porto is today Portugal’s second largest city and an important cultural and economical center of the country.
Narrow, looped alleys with clustered houses compose the charming old town of Porto, called “Ribeira”, starting at the shore of river Douro stepping up in terraces. Since 1996, this well preserved ensemble is part of UNESCO World Heritage. But there are many more sights attracting the visitor: Oporto Cathedral, the major concert hall “Casa da Musica” or the Clerigos Church, in order to name only 3 examples.
The most known export article is the Port wine which is cultivated along the river Douro. The center of the wine production is the city Vila Nova de Gaia facing Porto on the opposite side of the river.

Evora

Evora is a town with a changeful history. Its foundation goes back to the times of Roman occupation: the Temple of Diana, still admirable nowadays, gives proof of this roman heritage. During the 8th century the Moors conquered the town and held it until 1165 when it was re-conquered for the Portuguese king. With the help of the Knightly Order of Aviz that settled there and erected a strong wall, the town became one of the safest ones in Portugal those days. Accordingly, Evora was declared seat of the Portuguese kings and a rich cultural life developed.
The UNESCO appreciated the entire historical center including the “Praça do Geraldo” (Giraldo square), the Cathedral or the eerily “Capela dos Ossos” (Chapel of Bones) as sites of World Heritage.

Coimbra

Coimbra is the undoubted cultural capital of Portugal and was European Capital of Culture in 2003. This title is based on a multitude of extraordinary monuments.
In the year 1290, King Dinis founded the University of Portugal which makes it one of the oldest educational institutions in Europe. It is located on the highest point of the Upper Old Town and offers a breathtaking view across the city. It is home to the Joanina Library with around 300.000 precious books. The beautiful Capela de São Miguel (Chapel of Saint Michael) with its magnificent organ can be found on the territory of the University as well.
Wherever you go in Coimbra, your steps will be accompanied by historic and modern monuments. If it is the Sé Velha, the old cathedral with its Gothic altarpiece, the Sé Nova, the new cathedral in its beautiful Baroque style or the extraordinary, futuristic bridge Ponte Rainha Santa Isabel, you will be overwhelmed by the abundance of landmarks in Coimbra.

Barcelos

This little walled town in the north is the cradle of one of Portugal’s most typical souvenirs: o galo de Barcelos (the rooster of Barcelos). Legend says that an innocent man was accused of burglary and condemned to death. As a proof of his innocence he said a dead rooster would crow three times during his execution. And indeed, the rooster crowed and gave proof of the man’s innocence. Today the animal is a symbol for Portugal and can be found, mainly in ceramics, everywhere around the country.
Barcelos has a lot more to offer: a walk along the old town wall with a dungeon from medieval times is worthwhile, as well as a visit to the Archeological Museum, the Matriz church and the Jewish quarter.

Borealtours

Portugal et Espagne, incluant Fatima et St-Jacques de Compostelle
du 23 mars au 3 avril

Pèlerinage accompagné




Programme détaillé

PORTUGAL

Borealtours :: Portugal

Le pays est la partie la plus occidentale du continent européen, et donc influencé par la vie à l'océan Atlantique. Le «jardin verdoyant du Portugal» dans le nord, où d'excellentes vignes sont cultivées, passe dans les montagnes et enfin, dans le sud, la mer a formé la magnifique côte de l'Algarve avec ses plages de sable fin et des villages pittoresques.
A partir de ses côtes, de nombreux aventuriers ont découvert le monde et fait du Portugal une nation de navigateurs. Parmi eux, il y avait Vasco da Gama, qui a trouvé la voie maritime vers l'Inde et Pedro Alvares Cabral, qui a découvert le Brésil. De leurs longs voyages, ils ont ainsi imprégné le pays d'idées et de sensations que l’on retrouve dans la cuisine, la culture et la musique portugaise.
Que vous aimiez un «bacalhau», la morue traditionnellement séchée, proposée en 365 recettes différentes (une pour chaque jour de l'année) ou que vous buviez un verre du célèbre Porto en écoutant les chansons mélancoliques «Fado» de la nation, vous apprécierez votre séjour dans cette belle «fin de l'Europe». Enfin, vous comprendrez ce que signifient les Portugais avec «leur» mot «saudade», une nostalgie écrasante pour le Portugal, mais aussi pour des choses qui leur manquent. Vous pourrez prolonger votre voyage avec une multitude de souvenirs : un peu d’«Azulejos», carreaux de céramique typiques du Portugal qui embellissent chaque maison portugaise, une bouteille de «vinho verde» ou un peu de musique d'Amalia Rodriguez, la reine du Fado, pour garder en mémoire ce beau pays vivant.

Lisbonne

Construite sur sept collines, la capitale Lisbonne - également appelée «ville blanche» - est situé sur une magnifique baie à l'embouchure du fleuve Tage dans l'océan Atlantique. La ville basse «Baixa» construite après le grand tremblement de terre de 1755 est entourée par la colline du château avec son impressionnant château de Saint George. Prenez le tramway traditionnel numéro 28, pour découvrir les plus belles rues et les places de la vieille Lisbonne. La capitale cosmopolite est une ville avec un grand passé, comme en témoignent de nombreux sites. De magnifiques palais, les églises et monastères, ses ruelles étroites et ses places séduiront tous les visiteurs.

Belém

Le plus important quartier de Lisbonne, Belém est le foyer de la célèbre tour de Belém, construite sur les rives du fleuve Tage pour protéger la ville. C’est un site inscrit au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.
Le monastère des Jeronimos, avec son architecture impressionnante de style manuélin est un autre point fort du Portugal. Son église, Santa Maria de Belém, est le lieu de sépulture de beaucoup de gens nobles, parmi eux, cinq rois et sept reines.
A Belém, les visiteurs peuvent également admirer le célèbre monument des Découvertes. Après avoir été érigé en commémoration du 500e anniversaire de la mort d'Henri le Navigateur, il est dédié à tous les hommes qui ont participé à la gloire du Portugal.

Porto

Appelée Portus Cale dans le monde antique, Porto est la deuxième ville du Portugal et aujourd'hui un centre culturel et économique important du pays.
Des ruelles étroites et des maisons regroupées composent la charmante vieille ville de Porto, appelé «Ribeira». Depuis 1996, cet ensemble bien conservé fait partie du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Mais il y a beaucoup plus de sites qui attirent les visiteurs : la cathédrale de Porto, la grande salle de concert «Casa da Musica» ou l'église des Clercs, pour ne citer que 3 exemples.
L'article d'exportation le plus connu est le vin de Porto qui est cultivé le long du fleuve Douro. Le centre de la production de vin est Vila Nova de Gaia face à Porto sur le côté opposé de la rivière.

Evora

Evora est une ville avec une histoire changeante. Sa fondation remonte à l'époque de l'occupation romaine : le temple de Diane, toujours admirable de nos jours, donne la preuve de ce patrimoine romain. Au 8e siècle les Maures conquirent la ville jusqu'en 1165 lorsqu’elle a été reconquise par le roi portugais. Avec l'aide de l'ordre de la chevalerie de Aviz qui s'y est installée et a érigé un mur solide, la ville est devenue l'une des plus sûres au Portugal. Par conséquence, Evora a été déclarée siège des rois portugais et jouit d’une vie culturelle développée.
L'UNESCO a apprécié l'ensemble du centre historique, comprenant la place Giraldo, la cathédrale ou la chapelle des os comme sites du patrimoine mondial.

Coimbra

Coimbra est la capitale culturelle incontestable du Portugal et fut capitale européenne de la culture en 2003. Ce titre est basé sur une multitude de monuments extraordinaires.
En l'an 1290, le roi Dinis a fondé l'Université du Portugal qui en fait l'un des plus anciens établissements d'enseignement en Europe. Elle abrite le foyer de la Bibliothèque Joanina avec près de 300000 livres précieux. La belle chapelle de Saint-Michel avec son magnifique orgue se trouve sur le territoire de l'Université aussi.
Où que vous alliez à Coimbra, vos pas seront accompagnées par les monuments historiques et modernes. La Sé Velha, l'ancienne cathédrale avec son autel gothique, la Sé Nova, la nouvelle cathédrale dans son beau style baroque ou le futuriste pont Rainha Santa Isabel, tous les monuments abondants de la ville vous séduiront.

Barcelos

Cette petite ville fortifiée au nord est le berceau de l'un des souvenirs les plus typiques du Portugal : le coq de Barcelos. La légende dit qu'un homme innocent, accusé de cambriolage a été condamné à mort ; pour prouver de son innocence, il assura qu’un coq chanterait au cours de son exécution. Et en effet, le coq chanta et a donné la preuve de l'innocence de l'homme. Aujourd'hui, l'animal est un symbole pour le Portugal et peut être trouvé, principalement en céramique, dans tout le pays. Barcelos a beaucoup plus à offrir : une promenade le long de l'ancien mur de la ville avec un donjon de l'époque médiévale vaut la peine, ainsi qu'une visite du musée archéologique, l'église Matriz et le quartier juif.