SPAIN

Borealtours :: Spain

The country on the Iberian Peninsula is more than only Paella, Flamenco and bullfights.
A journey through the Kingdom of Spain offers a unique mixture of contrasts: beautiful coasts and a picturesque back-country, high mountains and charming islands, long traditions in small villages and a vibrant modernity in the metropolis.
And above all, evidences of a history full of changes can be found everywhere. The Romans that reigned over the country left many interesting sights, as well as the Muslims invading during the 8th century, fighting for many centuries with the Christians for the power over the Iberian Peninsula. After having run the Muslims away from Europe, Spanish kings started to support expeditions to find the seaway to India. That was the time when Spain rose to supreme power in the world.
Come, see and feel what makes this country on the shores of the Atlantic and the Mediterranean one of the most popular tourist destinations in Europe and the entire world.

Avila

Avila is not only the highest capital of a Spanish province with more than 1.100 meters but was also home the Carmelite monastery for nuns which was founded by the famous daughter of the town Teresa de Cepeda y Ahumada, called Teresa of Avila. Today the monastery is one highlight among a multitude of sights in the town of Avila: the impressive, completely preserved medieval city wall with its 88 towers and the beautiful Gothic Cathedral are only two more examples representing Avila’s great historical past.

Salamanca

Salamanca's prestigious university is the oldest one in Spain. The high population of students provides the town with a certain vitality and youth spirit. In contrast to that you will find the old historical city center which incloses important monuments of various stylistic periods such as Roman, Gothic, Moorish, Renaissance and Baroque. Monumental highlights of this charming town are the Old and the New Cathedral, the impressive Plaza Mayor and the Old City of Salamanca which was declared an UNESCO World Heritage in 1988.

Burgos

Burgos was the coronation town of the monarchs of the former kingdom of Castile. A visit to its majestic Gothic cathedral, a world heritage site of the UNESCO and gravesite of Spain’s national hero El Cid, is a unique experience as the building is known for its enormous size and unique architecture.

Madrid

The vibrant and cosmopolitan capital of Spain enchants its visitors with its beautiful architecture, its hospitality and the culinary and artistic variety that is has to offer. Madrid is the business center of Spain, the seat of the government and the parliament, as well as the residence of the Spanish monarch. Emblematic monuments, such as the Plaza Mayor, the Palais Royal, the Puerta de Alcalá and the Fountain of Cybèle are landmarks in historic city center of Madrid.

Barcelona

After Madrid, Barcelona is the second largest city in Spain and the capital of Catalonia. Barcelona is renowned to be one of the world's leading touristic, economic and cultural cities. Its situation on the sea gives the city a mild Mediterranean climate all over the year. The architectural landscape of the city is highly influenced by the work of Antoni Gaudi, whose most famous work is the enormous but still unfinished church of Sagrada Familia that has been under construction for more than 140 years already, still financed by private donors.

Sevilla

The charming city of Seville is located in the South of Spain and impresses its visitors with its more than 2200 years-old history. The passage of various civilizations over the centuries left the city with a distinct personality to be found in its large and well-preserved historical centre. Situated at the Guadalquivir River, Seville was a prosperous port carrying out the trade with America.

Borealtours

Portugal et Espagne, incluant Fatima et St-Jacques de Compostelle
du 23 mars au 3 avril

Pèlerinage accompagné




Programme détaillé

ESPAGNE

Borealtours :: Vietnam

Le grand pays de la péninsule ibérique représente plus que seulement la Paella, le flamenco et les corridas. Un voyage à travers le royaume d'Espagne offre un mélange unique de contrastes : de belles côtes et un arrière-pays pittoresque, de hautes montagnes et des îles charmantes, de longues traditions dans les petits villages et une modernité dynamique dans la métropole.
Et surtout, les traces d'une histoire pleine de changements partout. Les Romains qui ont régné sur le pays y ont laissé de nombreux sites intéressants, ainsi que les envahisseurs musulmans pendant le 8ème siècle, qui ont combattu pendant plusieurs siècles les chrétiens pour s’emparer de la péninsule ibérique. Après avoir repoussé les musulmans hors d'Europe, les rois espagnols ont commencé à soutenir des expéditions pour trouver la voie maritime vers l'Inde. C'est le moment où l'Espagne a eu un fort pouvoir dans le monde. Venez voir et sentir ce qui fait de ce pays, entre Atlantique et Méditerranée, l'une des destinations touristiques les plus populaires en Europe et dans le monde entier.

Avila

Avila est non seulement la plus haute capitale d'une province espagnole avec plus de 1100 mètres d’altitude, mais elle abrite aussi le monastère carmélite de religieuses fondé par la célèbre fille de la ville Teresa de Cepeda y Ahumada, appelée Thérèse d'Avila. Aujourd'hui, le monastère est un point culminant parmi une multitude de sites touristiques de la ville d’Avila : l'impressionnant mur de la ville médiévale entièrement conservée avec ses 88 tours et la magnifique cathédrale gothique ne sont que deux exemples représentatifs du grand passé historique d’Avila.

Salamanque

La prestigieuse Université de Salamanque est la plus ancienne en Espagne. La population d'élèves nourrit la ville d’une certaine vitalité et d’un l'esprit de jeunesse. Le centre historique de la ville enferme d’importants monuments de différentes époques stylistiques, tels que : roman, gothique, maure, Renaissance et Baroque. D’impressionnants monuments arborent cette charmante ville comme la Vieille et la Nouvelle Cathédrale, l'impressionnante Plaza Mayor et le quartier de la vieille ville, déclaré patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO en 1988.

Burgos

Burgos était la ville du couronnement des rois de l'ancien royaume de Castille. Une visite à sa majestueuse cathédrale gothique, un site du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO où se trouve la tombe du héros national de l'Espagne El Cid, est une expérience unique. Le bâtiment est connu pour sa taille et son architecture unique.

Madrid

La capitale vibrante et cosmopolite de l'Espagne enchante ses visiteurs avec sa belle architecture, son hospitalité et sa diversité culinaire et artistique. Madrid est le centre d'affaires de l'Espagne, le siège du gouvernement et du parlement, ainsi que la résidence du monarque espagnol. Les monuments emblématiques, comme la Plaza Mayor, le Palais Royal, la Puerta de Alcalá et la fontaine de Cybèle sont des repères dans le centre-ville historique de Madrid.

Barcelone

Après Madrid, Barcelone est la deuxième plus grande ville d'Espagne et la capitale de la Catalogne. Barcelone est réputée pour être une des villes économiques et culturelles, touristiques les plus importantes au monde. Sa situation sur la mer donne à la ville un climat méditerranéen doux toute l'année. Le paysage architectural de la ville est fortement influencée par l'œuvre d'Antoni Gaudi, dont le travail le plus célèbre est l'énorme mais encore inachevée église de la Sagrada Familia, en cours de construction depuis plus de 140 ans déjà, toujours financé par des donateurs privés.

Séville

La charmante ville de Séville est situé dans le sud de l'Espagne. Elle impressionne ses visiteurs avec ses plus de 2200 ans l'histoire. Le passage de différentes civilisations au cours des siècles a laissé des traces dans la ville, notamment dans le grand centre historique bien conservé. Située sur le fleuve Guadalquivir, Séville était un port prospère pour le commerce avec l'Amérique.