TURKEY

Borealtours :: Turkey

Turkey is a rapidly modernizing country with one foot in Europe and one in the Middle East. It is generally divided into seven regions: the Black Sea region, the Marmara region, the Aegean, the Mediterranean, Central Anatolia, the East and Southeast Anatolia regions.
Turkey is surrounded by sea on three sides, by the Black Sea in the north, the Mediterranean in the south and the Aegean Sea in the west. In the northwest there is also an important internal sea, the Sea of Marmara, between the straits of the Dardanelles and the Bosporus, important waterways that connect the Black Sea with the rest of the world.
Visit Turkey and find out that it is not all oriental splendors, mystery, intrigue and whirling dervishes but it is a spicy maelstrom of history knocking up against the present. Enjoy the unrivalled reputation for hospitality of the Turkish people. The cuisine is to die for, the coastline is a dream and many Turkish cities are dotted with spectacular mosques and castles.
Whether you leave Turkey with magnificent carpets, amulets to ward off evil, belly-dancing tips, an appreciation of its history, or just a tan, you're likely to want to go back for more.

Istanbul

Once known as the famous Constantinople, the capital of the Ottoman Empire, Istanbul is now a sprawling mega city, with the Bosporus putting half the city in Asia and the other half in Europe. The historical part of the city, Sultanahmet, contains the historical treasures of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The walled area, famous for holding off invaders for centuries, is great for exploring and getting lost down the twisting alleyways. You will most likely meet many friendly carpet salesmen eager to share a cup tea and discuss world events - and rugs.

Ankara

Ankara gained prominence under the leadership of Ataturk during the national resistance which followed World War I. It was declared the capital of the new Turkish Republic when the National War of Independence freed Turkey from foreign occupation.
Occupying one of the most prominent parts of the city is Anitkabir, the magnificent mausoleum constructed to commemorate Ataturk. This structure is a synthesis of antique and modern architectural themes, and proves the elegance and strength of Turkish architecture.
The oldest parts of the city surround the Castle. The Aladdin Mosque found inside its walls is still one of the best examples of Seljuk art and wood craftsmanship, in spite of the fact that it was restored by the Ottomans. Near the gate of the castle is the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations, which is a beautifully restored portion of the old bazaar.

Black Sea Region

This northern coastal region has a steep and rocky coast, and rivers cascade through gorges of the coastal ranges. A few of the large rivers, those cutting back through the Pontus Mountains, have tributaries that flow in broad, elevated basins. Access inland from the coast is limited to a few narrow valleys, and, as a result, the coast has always been isolated from the interior.
The narrow coastal ribbon running between Zonguldak and Rize, widening here and there into fertile deltas, is an area of concentrated cultivation. All available areas, including mountain slopes wherever they are not too steep, are put to use. The mild, damp climate favors commercial farming. The western part of this region also hosts much of Turkey's heavy industry.

The Marmara region

This region covers the area encircling the Sea of Marmara, includes the entire European part of Turkey, as well as the northwest of the Anatolian plain. Whilst the region is the smallest of the regions of Turkey after the Southeast Anatolia region, it has the highest population density of all the regions.
The most important peak in the region is Uludag (2,543 meters), at the same time it is a major winter sports and tourist centre. In the Anatolian part of the region there are fertile plains running from east to west.

The Aegean region

This region extends from the Aegean coast to the inner parts of western Anatolia. There are significant differences between the coastal areas and those inland, in terms of both geographical features and economic and social aspects.
In general, the mountains in the region fall perpendicularly into the sea and the plains run from east to west. The plains through which Gediz, Kücük Menderes and Bakircay rivers flow, carry the same names as these rivers.

The Mediterranean region

This region is located in the south of Turkey .The western and central Taurus Mountains abruptly rise up behind the coastline. The Amanos mountain range is also in the area.

The Central Anatolian region

This region is exactly in the middle of Turkey and gives the appearance of being less mountainous compared with the other regions. The main peaks of the region are Karadag, Karacadag, Hasandag and Erciyes (3.917 meters).

The Eastern Anatolia region

This region is Turkey's largest and highest region. About three fourths of it is at an altitude of 1,500-2,000 meters. Eastern Anatolia is comprised of individual mountains as well as of whole mountain ranges, with vast plateaus and plains. The mountains: There are numerous inactive volcanoes in the region, including Nemrut, Suphan, Tendurek and Turkey's highest peak, Mount Agri (Ararat), which is 5,165 meters high.
Several plains, the plains of Malazgirt, Mus, Capakcur, Uluova and Malatya. extend along the course of the Murat River, a tributary of the Firat (Euphrates).

The Southeast Anatolia region

This region is notable for the uniformity of its landscape, although the eastern part of the region is comparatively more uneven than its western areas.

TURQUIE

Borealtours :: Turquie

La Turquie est un pays qui se modernise rapidement avec un pied en Europe et un autre au Moyen-Orient. Il est généralement divisé en sept régions : la région de la mer Noire, la région de Marmara, la mer Egée, la Méditerranée, l'Anatolie centrale, de l'Est et dans les régions sud-est anatolien.
La Turquie est entourée par la mer sur trois côtés : la mer Noire au nord, la Méditerranée au sud et la mer Egée à l'ouest. Dans le nord-ouest, il ya aussi une mer intérieure importante, la mer de Marmara. Entre les détroits des Dardanelles et du Bosphore, les voies navigables qui relient la mer Noire avec le reste du monde sont importantes.
Visitez ce pays et découvrez que la Turquie ne consiste pas que de splendeurs orientales, de mystère, d’intrigue et de derviches tourbillonnants, mais c'est aussi un maelström épicé de l'histoire qui vient se frapper contre le présent. Profitez de la réputation inégalée de l'hospitalité du peuple turc. La cuisine est délicieuse, le littoral est un rêve et de nombreuses villes turques sont parsemées de mosquées et châteaux spectaculaires.
Si vous quittez la Turquie avec des tapis magnifiques, des amulettes repoussant le mauvais sort, des conseils pour la danse de ventre, une appréciation sur son histoire, ou juste un bronzage, vous allez vite ressentir l’envie d’y revenir pour d’y découvrir de nouvelles choses.

Istanbul

Connue autrefois comme la fameuse Constantinople, la capitale de l’empire ottoman, Istanbul est aujourd’hui une ville vivante qui est située sur le Bosphore, moitié en Asie, moitié en Europe. Bien que le centre soit magnifique, c’est la vieille ville, Sultan Ahmet, qui contient les trésors historiques de la Mosquée Bleue et l’incontournable Sainte-Sophie. La partie emmurée, connue pour la défense des ennemis pendant des siècles, est idéale pour explorer et se perdre dans les ruelles tortueuses. Très probablement vous rencontrerez des vendeurs de tapis amicaux, avides de prendre un thé ou bien discuter avec vous de tout et de tapis.

Ankara

Ankara a gagné son nom sous le règne d’Atatürk pendant la résistance nationale après la Première Guerre Mondiale. Elle est déclarée capitale de la Nouvelle République Turque lorsque la Guerre Nationale pour l’Indépendance a libéré la Turquie de son occupation étrangère. L’une des parties les plus populaires de la ville est Aniturk, un mausolée magnifique construit en commémoration d’Atatürk. C’est une synthèse de styles architecturaux antiques et modernes qui témoigne de l’élégance et du pouvoir de l’architecture turque.
Les parties les plus anciennes de la ville entourent le château. La Mosquée Aladin à l’intérieur des murs représente un des meilleurs exemples de l’art et artisanat seldjoukide, bien qu’il fût restauré par les Ottomans. Près de la porte du château se trouve le Musée de la civilisation anatolienne, qui est une section du vieux bazar merveilleusement restaurée.

Région de la mer Noire

Cette région maritime dans le Nord a une côte escarpée et rocheuse avec des rivières qui se tordent à travers les gorges côtières. Quelques-unes des rivières, celles qui se creusent à travers les montagnes de Pontus, ont des affluents qui convergent vers des bassins plus larges. L’accès à l’intérieur du pays est limité à un petit nombre de vallées, ce qui souligne l’isolement de la côte de l’intérieur. La bande maritime étroite entre Zonguldak et Rize, qui s’élargit de temps en temps dans un delta fertile, représente une région de culture intensive. Chaque endroit accessible est exploité jusqu’aux pentes peu escarpées. Le climat, de manière générale, humide favorise l’agriculture commerciale. L’Ouest de cette région concentre aussi une grande partie de l’industrie de la Turquie.

La région de Marmara

C’est la zone qui couvre la région entourant la mer de Marmara et comprenant toute la partie européenne de la Turquie ainsi que le Nord-Ouest de la plaine d’Anatolie. Bien que la région soit la plus petite des régions de la Turquie après l’Anatolie du Sud-est, elle détient la population la plus importante de tout le pays.
Le sommet le plus élevé de cette région s’appelle Uludag (2543 mètres). Ce sommet est, à la fois, un centre de sports d’hiver et un centre touristique remarquable. Dans la partie anatolienne de la région se trouvent des plaines fertiles s’étalant d’Est en Ouest.

La région de la Mer d'Égée

Elle s’étend sur toute la côte de la mer Égée et les parties intérieures de l’Anatolie occidentale. Concernant les aspects géographiques, économiques et sociaux, on remarquera les différences significatives entre les régions côtières et celles à l’intérieur des terres.
De manière générale, les montagnes de la région semblent tomber perpendiculairement dans la mer tandis que les plaines s’étirent d’Est en Ouest. Ces plaines portent les mêmes noms que les rivières qui les traversent : Gediz, Kücük, Menderes et Bakircay.

La région méditerranéenne

Elle se trouve au Sud de la Turquie où les monts de la Taurus occidentale et centrale se dressent de manière abrupte derrière les côtes maritimes. On peut trouver également dans cette région les monts Amanos.

La région d'Anatolie centrale

Cette région se trouve au cœur de la Turquie et semble moins montagneuse que les autres régions. Ses sommets principaux sont le Karadag, Karacadag, Hasandag et l’Erciyes (3917 mètres).

La région de l'Anatolie orientale

C’est la région la plus large et la plus élevée de Turquie. Les trois quarts s’élèvent à une altitude entre 1500 et 2000 mètres. L’Anatolie orientale est composée de montagnes isolées et de chaînes de montagnes, de plateaux vastes et de plaines. Dans cette région, il y a une multitude des volcans inactifs comme le Nemrut, Suphan, Tendurek et le sommet le plus élevé de la Turquie, le Mont Agri (Ararat), avec ses 5265 mètres.
Puis, plusieurs plaines s’étendent le long du cours du fleuve Murat, un confluent de la rivière du Firat (Euphrate). Ce sont les plaines de Malazgirt, de Mus, de Capakcur, d’Uluova et de Malatya.

La région de l'Anatolie du Sud-Est

Cette région se caractérise par l'uniformité de ses paysages, bien que la partie orientale de la région soit relativement plus inégale que celle de ses régions occidentales.